Husbands drinking problem

This forum is for family and friends of alcoholics

Moderators: November_rain, John

Forum rules
Please consider replying to an existing message. It only takes a minute and you may help someone else in need. A simple word of encouragement goes a long way.

Husbands drinking problem

Unread postby Donnab » Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:08 pm

My husband has an alcohol issue and he will not admit it. Going on for a while. I feel like i am going to lose my mind because he is telling me that i over dramatize and he has it under control.
Donnab

Re: Husbands drinking problem

Unread postby joann » Tue May 16, 2017 3:15 pm

After rehab and being sober 3 days my husband also says he doesn't believe he is an alcoholic and if he wants to stay sober rest of his life. I can not take another go around at 74.
joann

Unread postby Guest » Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:32 am

I am dealing with the same thing. This is my first time here. His alcoholic anger and verbal abuse is hurting me

Unread postby Ctrigger » Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:03 pm

I am new to this site. I am trying to battle my own demons but my husband is of no support by continuing with his drinking. He is is quick to point the finger but takes no accountability for his actions.
Ctrigger

Unread postby RobinLee » Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:59 am

Hello - this is my first time here. I am trying to find support for me because I cannot do a thing about my husband's alcohol consumption. I have been married a really long time, we met as children and he has been the love of my life. He drinks only on the weekends but drinks A LOT, he slurs his words and basically is noncommunicative until he either goes to bed. Sometimes he gets mean, I mean really mean with horrible words, which he, in turn, says I am responsible for making him mad. He calls me names but acts like I drove him to call me names. I cannot take it. I can no longer kiss the lips of someone who spews such venom and cringe at his touch. I am done.
RobinLee