Meetings for younger people

General questions about recovery
Forum rules
Please consider replying to an existing message. It only takes a minute and you may help someone else in need. A simple word of encouragement goes a long way.

Meetings for younger people

Unread postby danger maus » Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:00 pm

I'm new to sobriety. I used to think I was jut a binge drinker who needed to get a handle on myself....until I was detained last week for public intoxication and disorderly conduct. I don't even remember half of it, just that I lost my cell phone and stupidly just wandered off to look for it instead of getting in the car with my friends to go home. I think that was the wake up call I finally needed that this really is out of hand and I have a problem. I know I've had a problem all along but I guess this is the time I'm finally acknowledging it. It doesn't help that I've had 2 DUI's in the past 4 years and that people who've only met me briefly seem to only remember me as "that girl who really likes to drink". I finally just decided I've had enough of that. I want to have fun when I go out and actually remember it the following morning. I also don't want to wake up and have to worry I did something stupid the night before and can't recall it.