I need some direction

General questions about recovery
Forum rules
Please consider replying to an existing message. It only takes a minute and you may help someone else in need. A simple word of encouragement goes a long way.

I need some direction

Unread postby lori13marc » Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:56 am

Hi everyone, my name is Lori and I am new to this.I am 36 years old and I feel I need to stop drinking.I do not drink daily, I am a social drinker, usually on weekends with friends,My problem is I drink too much.I have received 2 DWI's and it really is effecting my relationship with my boyfriend who does not drink.I am one of those drinkers who usually ends up starting an argument.I know he is fed up and i am scared of losing him.I have made some really bad decisions while drinking and I want it to stop.It is so hard because I guess you could say thats what my friends and family do.It is around me all the time.I will take any input you have for me.Should I join AA meetings? Im going to make an appointment to see a counselor, in hopes to get on the right track. Thank You
lori13marc

Re: I need some direction

Unread postby xoxoMad » Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:12 pm

Hi Lori,
My Name is Michel. I am also new to AA and a newbie on here. I was also and kinda in the same boat with the drinking. I didn't know my limit and all of my family and friends drink. I Mostly drank because unlike you I was in a abusive marriage for 18 years. At First, I didn't drink everyday but I will drink all weekend long... Starting Friday night to Sunday and not the small bottle of wine. I had to buy the magnum size. Then, wine wasn't enough I had to move to something stronger, so I moved to Vodka. I started adding Wednesday and Thursday very soon. And the beginning of this year (2010) I added every day. I drank every day Monday through Sunday until I felt no more pain from my husbands mental or physical abuse.