im new to this

General questions about recovery
Forum rules
Please consider replying to an existing message. It only takes a minute and you may help someone else in need. A simple word of encouragement goes a long way.

im new to this

Unread postby yup » Mon Oct 25, 2010 3:45 pm

Im new to this. I know i have a problem with drinking. Example i was supposed to be at work today at 1am but i went out at 4pm and got home at 7pm. Then i called out of work stating i have the flu thats been going around work, and went out again to the bar at 9:30 and stayed out till 5am. I told my boyfriend that i went to work and then i went to sleep at my parents house around 5am.(he works 3rd shift) I lied to them and said i got out of work early and had a fight with my boyfriend so i wanted to sleep at their house for a little. i got home at 9:30am and my boyfriend totally thought i went to work and came home. The thing is I am really good at hiding my problem. I did awesome for about a year and a half with not going out to the bar and not drinking basically at all. But for the last 2 months ive been screwing up. I seem to be going to the bar more and more. I wanna get back to were i was at home and fine with just being there. Ive said to my boyfriend and best friends before that i think im an alcoholic. They have all said that im not. But I think they say that because i hide it well. And then there is my brother..He is a drug addict and alcoholic. 2 dui's in a week, jail, suicide threats.. you know the whole nine yards. My thing is i dont wanna be like him (at all). I dont know I guess i just needed to vent. I wanna ask my mom to go to an AA meeting with me but i dont want her to be disappointed in me. (She grew up with my grandfather as an alcoholic). My parents have already so much to deal with cause of my brother, i dont wanna put anything else on them. Tomorrow is a new day and i can start again.
yup

Re: im new to this

Unread postby lums » Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:12 pm